, , , ,

AER chair reappointed


The Federal Government has reappointed Clare Savage as the chair of the Australian Energy Regulator (AER), while Justin Oliver has been appointed as deputy chair.

The AER makes sure energy companies play by the rules and protects energy consumers.

Savage has been appointed for a further three years as AER chair after being first appointed in 2019 and is the first AER chair to be reappointed.

Over the last 25 years, Savage has gained experience in the public sector and energy industry including at the Energy Security Board, EnergyAustralia, Energy Supply Association of Australia and The Treasury.

Meanwhile, Oliver has more than 30 years’ experience as a competition and regulatory lawyer and in both federal and state governments. He was initially appointed as an AER Commonwealth member in February 2020.

Oliver was previously the head of the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission’s regulatory law practice, advising on all aspects of energy, communications and transport regulation.

“I congratulate Clare on her reappointment as chair and Justin on becoming deputy chair,” Minister for Climate Change and Energy Chris Bowen said.

“I am confident they will continue their crucial work making sure consumers are protected and can make informed energy choices.”

Subscribe to Energy Today for the latest project and industry news.

Send this to a friend