, , , , ,

Industry leaders to discuss the future of NSW energy policy

NSW’s transition to a low emissions economy faces immediate policy challenges. There is no silver bullet solution to decarbonise the energy system – and there is no single universal approach for transition governance. How the State tailors its transition to its local circumstances, addressing the state of play of coal generation, investing in new energy infrastructure, and adopting a long-term legislative commitment, is just taking off and the time is now to connect its mandated low emission targets with short and mid-term action.

Can the State commit to more ambitious overall greenhouse gas mitigation targets for the longer term – to 2030 and beyond? What technological options are available, and how expensive are they compared with existing technologies? Would there be high costs in lost growth and employment? Where are the opportunities for business as companies move to reduce carbon impact? Who will gain as a result? And how can business innovation nurture the burgeoning green economy?

Re-Powering NSW conference, being held 26-27 October, is gathering the State’s energy leaders, senior government executives, and major investors to discuss these critical questions and to openly debate existing and future strategies towards low emission solutions in terms of the range, cost, effectiveness, and mixture of ingredients that are imperative to navigate the transition in a responsible manner.

Featured speakers for this landmark conference include:

John Pierce, Chairman, Australian Energy Market Commission
Paul Italiano, Chief Executive Officer, TransGrid
Paul Broad, Chief Executive Officer, Snowy Hydro
Lisa Gooding, Senior Manager, Policy and Government Affairs, Energy Australia
John Bradley, Chief Executive Officer, Energy Networks Association
Tony Maher, National President, CFMEU Mining and Energy Division
Innes Willox, Chief Executive Officer, Ai Group
Ross Garnaut, Distinguished Research Fellow, Faculty of Business and Economics, University of Melbourne
Tania Constable, Chief Executive Officer, CO2CRC
Miles George, Managing Director, Infigen Energy
Malcolm Roberts, Chief Executive, APPEA
Kylie Hargreaves, Deputy Secretary, NSW Department of Industry – Division of Resources & Energy
Olivia Kember, National Policy & Research Manager, The Climate Institute
Brett Redman, Chief Financial Officer, AGL
Peter Mayfield, Flagship Director, Energy, CSIRO
Ed MacManus, Chief Executive Officer, Powershop

Leave a Reply

Send this to a friend